Poets logo

It seems...

kindness matters

By Veronica Published 2 years ago 2 min read
5
Photo by Nick Fewings on Unsplash

It seems,

that the monsters inside my head,

Are worse than the monsters under my bed,

because at least when I was a child,

I had my imagination,

now all I have is limitation.

I go to a job

Where I fulfill others dreams

Trying to fill my time

By staring at a screen

Because the boredom kills

But the knowledge of

Being alive in a world that sees you

As a pawn

And surrendering your own

Dreams

And

Imagination

Is a suffering

I’d never want another soul

To experience.

The dollar bill weighs

In my mind

Worse than the suicide

Three dead this year

From needles in their arms

And a numbness that wished them gone

One hung themselves

In hopes of dangling for salvation

To drain the pain

Release the temptation

Away from their memory

But instead

they live on in my head

Voices of what they left behind

Echoing in the space

The void

That fills my time

I wish often that I was blind

That I could smile and pretend

That I didn’t hear the angels in my head

Asking to help those who aren’t yet dead

To spread the word of love

Especially to those who see me as a friend

But for years

I played a part

Put on a mask

To become the jester

And let my emotions inside me

Fester

And now the serious version of me

Is terrifying for some to see

I come with shadow and light

I come forth day and night

I have kissed rage and envy

And made it my delight

But I have tasted salvation

When death gave me this sight.

Alas, I am here to stay

To see another day

But time and energy

I can waste no more

Tho time may be an illusion

We have come crawling out the opened door

And with each breath we take

Is a another life at stake

So, please be kind,

Stop leaving those behind

Who are too lost to find

The rhythm in the rhymes.

Be a guiding hand,

Or a voice of solitude,

That offers solutions and

Gratitude.

Yes,

The dollar bill pays the rent

But it shouldn’t own my soul in exchange,

And I refuse to believe

“That’s life”

excerptsheartbreakinspirationalsad poetry
5

About the Creator

Veronica

I am the moss silken on watered stones, rooted deep in rich soil. Earthen creature, I am the night sky -starry and strayed from the forgotten path of poets - I am, the chatter from the iron rails rattling as the train carries itself home.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  4. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (4)

Sign in to comment
  • Babs Iverson2 years ago

    Fantastic!!! Love it!!!💖💕

  • Mariann Carroll2 years ago

    Hearted , What a Fantastic Poem 🌹❤️This is a winner in my book 👏👏👏👍👍🎉

  • Dawn Salois2 years ago

    Wonderful, though-provoking poem. Great job!

  • Cathy holmes2 years ago

    This is fantastic.those last few lines. Wow

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.