Poets logo

It’s Been a Long Day

Today of all days

By Cayla PattersonPublished 3 years ago 2 min read
2

It’s been a long day , as I kick off my shoes and stretch my legs . It’s been a long day as I sit on the couch and here comes my pets ! Up again I say , before I get too comfortable and end up stepping in a mess . Shoes back on and out we go . I don’t feel like walking it’s kinda cold I wish they’d hurry up and go . Five minutes past home at last ! I think it’s time for me to grab a glass pour me some wine so I can unwind. Definitely time to run my bath , so off to the bathroom I go . Turned on the water then poured the soap . Let that rise then get undressed that’s what he loved to see he said it was the best . As I chuckle I take a sip now That I’m fully stripped I turn the lights out no candles no music just time to pipe down . Into the bath I go neck deep , hot but not too hot just a little heat . Now I’m too relaxed let me hurry and wash up before this bath puts me to bed . Boy it’s been a long day, done with my bath time to finally sleep . Got to wake up early my days are on repeat . Close my eyes your smile is all I see so I open them . The bed feels weird without u next to me . I thought I was getting better but maybe that’s a lie . Lord am I tired this is a different kinda cry there’s a hole in my chest it craves him but I still try to do my best cause I know he’s watching over me he wouldn’t want me sad so I force myself to laugh and think about the times where we had a blast a little more time is all I would’ve asked just a little more time . Lord it’s been a long day today of all days where we’d laugh, have fun , make love , and blow out candles and eat cake . Lord it’s been a long day I just wish he was here so I can say happy birthday baby and I love u .... then to see his face . But I see his face every time I close my eyes and he smiles so maybe he’s ok and telling me to be ok so I’m ok til next holiday .

heartbreak
2

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.