Poets logo

It's All a Big Jerk

Sometimes things aren't what they seem

By Luis PerezPublished about a year ago 1 min read
Like

I used to believe in things; God, spirituality, magic etc.

It was all so captivating in the beginning

Enchanted and mesmerized I was,

Lighting candles, reciting prayers and making affirmations

I had drank the kool aid and it tasted like holy blood

I remember the day like it was yesterday

I had primed myself for the blessing, the enlightenment

I got down on my knees, raised my hands

Grabbed firmly onto the angels and spirits as they prepared to anoint me

Anoint me with their divine essence

I raised my head up high and opened my mouth to recite the incantation

I could feel the holy spirit getting stronger, I could see the light

Shining bright, blinding me as I eagerly embraced in ecstasy

Then at once the divine essence was released

As it shot forth with might all over my body

I was engulfed and covered with God’s blessing

I could hear cherubim singing and see angels flying

I felt the sensation of the divine all throughout my bones

I had made it! I had finally made it to enlightenment!

To salvation and dare I say…resurrection!

I opened my eyes

The angels were gone, the spirits nowhere in sight

I got up and grabbed a towel,

Dried my face and draped the towel over my body

Then I looked around

Emptiness.

surreal poetrysad poetryheartbreak
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.