Poets logo

It IS Possible to Meet Your Soulmate in a Bar

You Can't Fight the Stars

By Mawde OlssenPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 1 min read
1
It IS Possible to Meet Your Soulmate in a Bar
Photo by NASA on Unsplash

Looking back

And back

Cavernous bar called

Nick’s

A building on a long spit of sand

Filled with music

And Dark Corners.

As in childhood

I tagged along with my big brother

Table in the back

Checking out a potential musician

To go to Istanbul.

Looking back

I can only see you

Like you were in

A spotlight

And the others were playing in darkness.

Like the beginning of a

Cheesy Rom Com.

“He’s sweating. I like that, it means he’s working hard.”

My brother waves you over at a break

To talk business.

You didn’t know you were meeting

Your Future Mate.

Except you did.

Because tucked in your wallet was a clipping.

A woman who lived at the beach and had dogs

And painted pictures of the sea.

A woman you thought would be the type for you

That was me

Except it wasn’t.

Someone like me though

I sat eating greasy fries

Trying to look nonchalant.

Like, yeah, no big deal

Except it was.

A deal made by Teams of Light that

Live in Galaxies

And Nebulas.

24 years later

Looking back

My body reacts

The same.

Chills of Soul Remembering.

Prickles of Destiny.

The same that I get

Every time I watch you play

And hear you sing.

And when you look up at my table in the balcony

And smile

STILL

My eyes tear up.

My smile is so big

I could tie the ends on the

Top of my head

Like a scarf

It all started with the words,

“You wanna go hear a musician I might hire?”

But even if I had said no thanks

I know and know and know

We would have met.

It was stamped

All over the stars

It was stamped

On the Orion Nebula.

On the Beaches of the Pacific.

On the Mosques of Istanbul.

And the Cerulean Skies of the Caribbean.

love poems
1

About the Creator

Mawde Olssen

Introvert. Music is my solace and nature is my church. Dabbled in acting, painting, raptor rehab, and comedy. I enjoy the aforementioned, as well as sci fi, stand up comics, history, science, spirituality, the paranormal, and napping.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.