Poets logo

It is Him

He’s the One

By AleezaPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 2 min read
Like
It is Him
Photo by Hunter Newton on Unsplash

It is him.

He’s the one.

~

All else melted away -

The clatter of the lunchroom dishes,

The 500 other students in that room.

~

Nothing else remained.

Just one moment.

~

One look -

Unplanned,

Unanticipated.

~

One glance -

As I stood to go return my tray.

~

It is him.

He’s the one,

Entering the lunchroom -

Standing in line,

Laughing and cutting up,

Wearing a team jersey,

Getting to know the other players.

~

One nanosecond -

To make the world stop,

To redefine my world,

To be my world.

It is him.

He’s the one.

The new student -

Three years my senior,

Who captured my untamed heart.

~

It is him.

He’s the one,

I say to my curious friends.

That’s who I am going to marry.

No way, they say.

He is a senior!

He has a girlfriend!

~

It is him.

He’s the one.

Just wait and see.

~

Four years later.

He finally sees me.

~

It is him.

He’s the one,

For whom my heart waited.

Quietly, him not knowing I knew.

Patiently, him not knowing my name.

Almost, but never forgotten.

~

It is him.

He’s the one,

Who I knew would come to me,

Because it only took one look,

One incidental moment,

To recognize the love of my life.

~

Against all odds -

Different locations,

Placeholder loves,

Wartime service,

No communication,

No shared friends.

~

Four years of waiting

For him to look my way,

And it only took one moment,

One chance encounter,

One unexpected glance.

~

It is him.

He’s the one,

Who looked up from the table,

At the moment I was passing,

Neither knowing the other was there.

~

Until our eyes connected our souls.

~

It is him.

He’s the one,

Whose smile mesmerized my world -

Yet again,

As fresh as if it were the first time.

~

It is him.

He’s the one,

Whose world slowly melted away,

As mine had four years before.

~

It is him.

He’s the one,

My soul loved and waited for.

~

It is him.

He’s the one,

Whose soul waited for me.

~

It is him.

He’s the one,

Those three word refrains laughed at,

Those three word refrains that held on,

Still ring true today.

~

It is him.

He’s the one.

And thirty years later,

It is still him.

He’s still the one.

love poems
Like

About the Creator

Aleeza

Love to write. Love to connect. Love to learn. Love to observe. My writing is my bio. I am found in what I write, I am in the music that surrounds me, I am the reader in reflection.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.