Poets logo

it hurt

wicked words

By Ariana Yeager Published 2 years ago 1 min read
Like
it hurt
Photo by Camila Quintero Franco on Unsplash

it hurt

the voicemail drowned my ears

the vibration of your call shook my body

your voice sliced my heart.

my ribcage collapsed, puncturing my lungs

my sobs and gasps for air were loud deseperstions begging for you to understand.

it all came rushing back

that tone, I know that hurtful tone

the fear, I know the that fear.

i let it hurt, because,

it hurt.

in the moment

your words clung to my damaged soul

and sent shockwaves of pain.

i realized how different you were.

how old demons make you hold grudges

that were taken out on me,

that were always taken out on me.

i wanted to be perfect. For you.

i lost myself, I didn’t know myself.

i allowed myself to only know what you wanted, and think how you wanted me to.

all these years of pleasing and serving

i can’t no longer, respectful but true,

true to myself, honest.

i never meant to hurt, but hurting seems to be all I do.

i always did my best based on circumstances.

i’m sorry, I couldn’t be better for you.

i tried, I promise I tried.

but it’s time for me to heal myself

to work away from that controlling fear.

i’m grateful all the Hell taught me to be strong, but it seemed like too big a price to pay for some strength.

it hurt

but one day, I hope courage

nests within, and allows me

to finally stand up.

i owe myself and the ones affected by this that much.

performance poetry
Like

About the Creator

Ariana Yeager

But, what if it does work out?

She walks through Hell with a smile because she owns her demons.

Don't say why me, say try me.

If you can't beat the fear, do it scared.

You only live once? False. You live everyday.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.