Poets logo

It Finally Arrived

"Retirement"

By Cathy DeslippePublished about a year ago 1 min read
1
It Finally Arrived
Photo by Towfiqu barbhuiya on Unsplash

It seemed like forever,

yet now it's here.

It crept up on me,

with positives and fears.

I thought of this day

many years ago.

I didn't realize how tired I would be,

or that I would move slow.

Hard work is what got me here.

For that, I hold dear.

I wanted to work hard

for my family and my wife.

To give them the best

I could, in life.

Yet that day has come,

still work a few days or so.

Needing people to see,

also a place to go.

Maybe a trip here and there,

That only seems fair.

Yet as the saying goes,

live every day the best you can,

Before you know it,

you wish you could do it all over again.

inspirational
1

About the Creator

Cathy Deslippe

Catherine Deslippe

At the age of 7, I became an author. I am an international writer with many authors; all royalties went to cancer patients without insurance. I used to write to cope, but now I write to bring others hope.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • HandsomelouiiThePoet (Lonzo ward)about a year ago

    📝 ✨❤️😉

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.