Poets logo

It

#BookReviewHaiku

By J. S. WadePublished 10 months ago β€’ Updated 10 months ago β€’ 1 min read
16
It
Photo by Nong on Unsplash

Pennywise a fright.

Seven misfits charge on bikes ~

Lil’ Georgie is dead.

🎈🎈🎈🀑🎈🎈🎈

For the Judey Kalchik #BookReviewHaiku unofficial challenge.

β€œIT” is a novel by Stephen King that tells the story of an ancient evil entity who manifests itself in Derry, Maine every twenty-seven-years as a killer. It hides in the sewers and lures children with bright balloons to be killed and consumed. IT feeds off of their fear. The town lives in fright but seven social misfits (The Losers Club) of various physical handicaps fight back, led by Bill (an asthmatic) who’s little brother Georgie is a victim.

I love this story because those discarded and abused by their peers have the courage to fight back against a great evil. The bullies are exposed for what they are, cowards. Stephen King is at his finest weaving this eerie and terrifying tale.

β€œYou'll float toooooooo,” says Pennywise.

Read Judey Kalchik’s inaugural haiku book review below. Join the fun at the FB page she hosts at The Medium Writers and Vocal Creators Support Group.

book reviews
16

About the Creator

J. S. Wade

Since reading Tolkien in Middle school, I have been fascinated with creating, reading, and hearing art through story’s and music. I am a perpetual student of writing and life.

J. S. Wade owns all work contained here.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  3. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (11)

Sign in to comment
  • Cendrine Marrouat10 months ago

    Nice one!

  • Mariann Carroll10 months ago

    Awesome poetry, I did watch this movie with my daughter. The song playlist for this movie was scary too.

  • You'll float toooooooo

  • I like "It"!

  • Paul Stewart10 months ago

    haha, poor Lil Georgie! Loved this one, Scott! Great job!

  • Emma Kate Coleman10 months ago

    I typically hate horror, but I made it through the movie somehow, and I think this is just so funny! Misfits indeed! πŸ˜‚

  • Hahahahahhahahaha little Georgie is dead! Sorry my sense of humour is weird. I kept laughing while watching this movie hahahaha. I never read the book before so I discovered a difference. Pennywise comes every 27 years in the movie but every 20 years in the book!

  • It was the first book I can remember that I couldn’t put down. I’ve read it several times Always one of my favorites

  • Babs Iverson10 months ago

    As always, fantastic!!!. You know that you nailed it!!!

  • Judey Kalchik 10 months ago

    Both the haiku and the long form review ere , well; dead on

  • Cathy holmes10 months ago

    Nailed it! Excellent review. I did Pet Sematary and, as you can imagine, did.it my way.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

Β© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.