Poets logo

Is somewhere I get to go.

Poem: the potential of going somewhere

By Rilee AreyPublished 9 months ago 1 min read
3
Is somewhere I get to go.
Photo by Marco López on Unsplash

I love traveling,

When I step into that airport,

I feel a breath of potential,

an unmatched energy,

Where I could go anywhere,

A step into a new life,

By just one flight,

I am surrounded with so many different people,

Assorted bags,

Personalized tags,

Where everyone has their own life,

compartmentalized carryon's varying in size,

Each person tells a story,

how they walk,

The way they talk,

Their own personalized style,

From their hair to their socks,

The glasses in their bag,

The booked they tucked away,

Giftshop souvenir's where they overpaid,

So many story lines in transition,

The places they are going,

Or have been,

An observers dream,

Written within the booked seats,

There may those people that cut the line,

are unaware of people's time,

or forget how to speak to others,

We forget a soft smile can go a long way,

Remembering a simple act can be a mark in someone's day,

That though the lights may bright,

The delays add irritation to your time,

Surrounded by crowds and lines,

You have the potential to go anywhere,

Whether it's a long-deserved vacation,

finding some much-needed relaxation,

or heading somewhere to fuel a fixation,

Maybe, just at another works day in,

There is immeasurable potential,

That rushes through my soul,

I could wait all day,

Because I know,

On this plane,

Is somewhere I get to go.

social commentary
3

About the Creator

Rilee Arey

What a life we live, Lets live a life where we have something to write home about!

27-year-old trying to find meaning, love and a life worth living.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  2. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  3. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (3)

Sign in to comment
  • Alex H Mittelman 8 months ago

    Great poem!

  • I'm not a fan of travelling but your poem was very wonderful!

  • As I have traveled to 125+ countries, I surely have been around my fair share of souls who are totally unlike me. I wish you the best on your writing journey. You may also enjoy the following: https://vocal.media/earth/growing-your-own-food Thanks for your thoughts.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.