Poets logo

Is It Madness

To Embrace Yourself

By Karen LaRuePublished about a year ago 1 min read

Is it really madness

To embrace yourself

And all that you really are

Because some people say it is

The same people

Who insist that you must be like this certain person

That their behavior bears no resemblance to

Their expectations aren't exactly consistent

Nor is their theology

But they call madness

What I call authenticity

The simple, subversive, sinful act of being me

In my wholeness and fullness of spirit

They insist that I conform

But that to me seems to be the madness

That I would conform

That I would pretend to be someone I am not

And join in their crusade against others

When they propose to teach love

So I will continue to exist in my madness

The mad, sinful happiness that is me

And in this act of simple existance

I offer resistance

To the hatred and conformity

That they call holy

My madness is holy

And I will embrace it till the end

performance poetrysocial commentaryinspirational

About the Creator

Karen LaRue

I am Karen LaRue (She/Her) a North Carolina writer of poetry and witchy things of most sorts. I belive life is full of wonder and we don't always stop to see it. Taking the time to look and listen makes life worth living!

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Karen LaRueWritten by Karen LaRue

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.