Poets logo

Is It Fall Semester Already?

There is no break between summer and fall this year!

By Denise E LindquistPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
3
Is It Fall Semester Already?
Photo by Sam Balye on Unsplash

It is a couple days until the start of Fall semester

It takes hours and hours to download a video on my computer

At times like this I would like instead to be a jester

Getting ready for a class can take a lot of time on this old puter!

*****

Let us not forget this old lady

When I was teaching at a younger age

I don’t remember it being a big deal for that baby

In retirement, someone younger should be pulling this stage.

****

If it was just one movie, it wouldn’t be such a big deal

Or maybe if I would have started a bit earlier in the day

Or if someone else was teaching this I squeal

Maybe they would know enough to start yesterday.

****

School starts on the 20th of August and it is two days away I bet

I should have paid attention to how to transfer the entire class

Now that may be worth learning and may even be worth learning yet.

But I have a person in mind, that may take my place, she is a younger lass.

****

I must be somewhere but not until this loads as it will shut down

Without anyone on here and sign me out

Confidentiality and all it reminds me when I am off fooling around

Well, I am doing laundry and dishes, it is time I shout!

****

90%, it can be anytime now

Just maybe a few more minutes to go

How about now brown cow

And the minutes are stalled, oh no

****

It is now 91%, I have to stop checking

It is making me crazy to be looking

Did you see the brown cow reference

And I am making no sense

****

It is at 92% and there will be a party soon

It is 3:00 in the afternoon

And who knows, it maybe tomorrow at noon!

Be positive I tell myself and I am a buffoon

****

Not really, I looked and it was now 93!

It is moving, we are getting somewhere,

See

It is 94 and we are almost there, I swear!

****

How many more sets can I do of this rhyme

It is 95

And I am almost out of time

Have to fly and we are still alive.

****

It takes about 4 lines, maybe a few more

To get to the next percent

I’m sure you are ready to go to the store

And maybe buy a new scent.

****

Yes celebration is coming soon, we are at 96

Red Lake walleye for dinner, my favorite fish ever

This is making me a bit wonky, I need a fix

And fish will do it for me as it has forever!

****

97, yes!

I sure don’t blame you if you are done with me

It will be only 3 more sets I guess!

I sure would be

****

97 still!

Okay, it doesn’t mean we have stalled

What a pill!

Or does it? I will be appalled

****

98, time to skate

I don’t skate anymore

It is getting late

Maybe I should, and I would not be a bore!

****

How can anyone stand this

We are at 99 percent and there is strife

I think I will almost miss

this… not on your life!

****

Celebrate, celebrate, lets dance to this music,

Now what, we are at 100% and nothing.

The document if not there, I’m sic

And what can I do? Is there anything?

****

It saved, it plays and now I can too!

Thank you for hanging in with me Boo!

performance poetry
3

About the Creator

Denise E Lindquist

I am married with 7 children, 27 grands, and 12 great-grandchildren. I am a culture consultant part-time. I write A Poem a Day in February for 8 years now. I wrote 4 - 50,000 word stories in NaNoWriMo. I write on Vocal/Medium weekly.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (3)

Sign in to comment
  • Cathy holmes2 years ago

    Haha. This is great.

  • Heather Hubler2 years ago

    I loved the rhythm and your playfulness as you were counting down at the end. You took a potentially stressful situation and made it something to enjoy reading about. Great work!

  • Mariann Carroll2 years ago

    Very suspenseful poem . It was compelling to keep reading along.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.