Poets logo

Irresponsible Shopping

The reality behind Shopping and work.

By Tokyo Lights Published 4 years ago 2 min read
Like
Seoul

Shopping Mopping.

I keep shopping I keep mopping ,

Because this next Bag I want it.

Ding! Goes the notification,

I must stop this bank app from asking me for verification.

Was it me you ask ?

Yes, but I’ll complete the next Task,

In order to pay back my overdraft

I must now work hard and graft.

Shopping shopping ,

Mopping mopping,

I’ve shopped here , I’ve shopped there ,

All of my money seems to disappear ,

Its countless how much money I’ve spent,

Sometimes I can’t afford to pay the rent.

I remember buying it,

But I can no longer see it,

Was it black or was pink?

Was it an earring or was it glaring?

I can’t remember ,

Since it’s been ages since I wear it.

I wonder why I’m always poor,

and every day i look for more,

But I find it so hard to not stop,

at the next shop .

Was it a gift or was it a treat ?

I still can’t remember why I bought it

I tell myself I'll stop

But I always see myself in the next shop.

Shopping shopping

Mopping mopping

What could I have bought ,

With all that money

I stopped and thought

Maybe a car

Or maybe a star

But that guilt always comes

and vanishes and leaves no crumbs.

As I know tomorrow I’ll buy something new

at last.

Oops!

my card got declined

I'm sure if i trying another one

The cashier won't mind.

Oops!

Yet again it's been declined

Maybe they can do a bind

or ill come back another time

but i HAD to make it mine

so i asked

Can I pay with 2 separate cards?

Someone went to get the guards.

Back to mopping I go.

Before I take a blow.

Hopefully I’ll save up for the next

In order to upgrade my Flex.

social commentary
Like

About the Creator

Tokyo Lights

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.