Poets logo

Ironic Proportions

Gluttony

By Joseph Shawn JohnsonPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
1
Photo: Mother Harlot, on Flickr, Username: BitchyBaubles (https://www.flickr.com/photos/98756386@N07/43152627962/in/photostream/)

With the patience of Love, I made sure every moment was felt..

Waiting, foot and hand like a domesticated animal, a good boy..

I did not rush the Love I had for you.

. . . It had been.. Long... Enough..

Long enough that I accepted the crumbs that you fed me.

Long enough watching you feed others before me and even then, giving me their leftovers.

Long enough that I had dealt with the pain and frustration that you were causing me.

Everyday felt as if you were twisting my brain like a Rubix Cube..

Trying to complete something that already was..

.. JUST BECAUSE..

Your vision of me was not how you wanted me to look, so you considered me not compatible...

Yet..

Anytime your soul was close to me you felt comfort, you felt at home.

When your hands were together, hand in hand with mine..

Your body sang a song, with a vibe that could only be described as Divine..

You say you starved for my love and that you didn't feel that you had to work for it..

I gave you Love, you said it was not enough.. Insatiable said some.

1.. 2.. 3.. 4.. 5 times the fun..

Still, you craved me as if every time was the first time.

Gluttony, I was good to you, despite your ways..

What for me seemed to become a glutton for punishment, for many of days.

Not enough for you, too slow for you, as you look for another.

Makes sense that one was not enough, that you would need more.. More lovers..

You made it seem like loving me was too big of a task..

As if asking you to ration-alize must have been too much to ask..

There is only so much someone can take before they say kiss my...

#IronicProportions

art
1

About the Creator

Joseph Shawn Johnson

Freelancer Writer and single father. Raising a very beautiful, talented, creative and artistic 13 year old daughter. Expressing myself artistically through a wide range of spoken word, music, poetry and many other forms of creative writing.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.