Poets logo

Invisible Life

Miscarriage

By Rita DupontyPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Invisible Life
Photo by Alicia Petresc on Unsplash

Although you couldn't see me,

you never questioned that I was

there. Consumed by my future

became your daily care.

The first trimester began

with a bang. All your plans you

rearranged.

You made me so happy,

that first day you kicked in gear - 

you resolved to be good and

stay away from the beer.

Not an easy task to do,

since it was during your

relapse I came to you. 

My teardrops flowed 

as I saw you suffer so,

as your panic attacks 

increased and the doctor

said your pills had to go.

As if that wasn't enough, you

came down with an awful flu.

I asked God, oh! What are we

to do?

Echoes of your voice rang in my

ears, as you toyed with names

I might take through the years.

For a few minutes I even heard talk

of a marathon run. It sounded

like you missed out on a lot of fun.

There was no question your

commitment was great.

You were willing to marry my

father, and yes, love forsake.

I am sorry I left so quickly,

without saying goodbye - 

you had no control or reason

why.

If we would have met,

I surely would have said

Thanks for trying - 

You gave me your very best!

With flying colors,

You passed my test!

Goodbye Mom…

© Rita Duponty, All Rights Reserved

Originally viewed on my website, Tidbits for Healthy Living and Medium.com.

surreal poetry

About the Creator

Rita Duponty

I write to share my experiences and hopefully lift your soul. I hope you will enjoy my journey as you walk with me.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Rita DupontyWritten by Rita Duponty

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.