Poets logo

Intoxicated

Drink to be merry, not to lose yourself

By TestPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like
Intoxicated
Photo by Vinicius "amnx" Amano on Unsplash

Mind erratic

Heart upbeat

I don't look

I cross the street

*

Made it through

Without a scratch

Keep on going

Two cars crash

*

Looking for a place to sleep

To clean up and think in peace

Have no time to sit and wait

Around the corner comes the police

*

Sirens wail beckoning fear

My heart is wild and face pale

I pick up my pace and move ahead

I think of judges, the law and jail

*

I look at the window, I'm a mess

The sirens soften and I halt

Two officers come for my arrest

You caused the crash, it's all your fault

*

I say nothing and let them take me

My weary body gives way underneath

It's time I rested and stopped running

I find it difficult to breathe

*

Another siren I hear afar

An ambulance comes to aid

People surround me looking panicked

People are distant and afraid

*

Glazed eyes close

The moment is over

I can rest in peace

Now I am sober

social commentary
Like

About the Creator

Test

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

Test is not accepting comments at the moment

Want to show your support? Send them a one-off tip.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.