Poets logo

Into the darkness

From the soul

By Karen QuinnPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like

Darkness and pain from past,

Chains and binds all through,

Pain from what happened,

The pain before I grew,

To be a child so innocent,

And that taken away,

It makes you feel so dismal,

Even on the brightest day,

Please don’t see me as a victim,

I don’t want sympathy,

I only want you to understand,

That I know how you must feel,

To use as inspiration,

To know you can get through,

To know I’ve faced my demons,

This means that you can too,

To fall into such darkness,

You think you’re going to drown,

You claw and break,

And think it’s over - constantly feel down,

Then it hits you again like torrents,

With a hostile takeover,

Your thoughts go round and round,

That you just can’t reign over,

The waves of anguish ripple,

Which you try to avert,

You can’t escape the bad feeling,

The pain and blinding hurt,

Escapism is the obvious choice,

But nothing ever worked,

The only thing that helped,

Is healing from the worst,

To make myself feel it,

No longer try to hide,

To think of every last second,

Was more than I could abide,

I never shared with family,

I was far too scared,

It felt so hard to bare my soul,

To know I was impaired,

I wanted to protect them,

So that they didn’t blame themselves,

Never wanted them to hurt,

Didn’t want to overwhelm,

Replaying over and over,

Felt like I was to blame,

Thought somehow it was my fault,

Full of guilty shame,

But now I know different,

I am a true survivor,

Feeling strong inside,

With blazing eyes like a tiger,

Totally rejuvenated,

I healed the pain within,

The light is full and blinding,

I can do anything,

Know my fellow warriors,

That throughout any pain,

That you can overcome it,

And be so whole again,

So when you’re at your darkest,

Let faith pull you through,

Realise that it wasn’t your fault,

It doesn’t just happen to you,

I don’t hold any malice,

Nothing anymore,

I would never let it affect me,

Never like before,

So know there is an end,

Don’t face it all alone,

You’ll peel back the darkest veil,

You will know that you have won,

Don’t ever give up striving,

You will get there in the end,

And you will totally be glowing,

Completely healed my friend ❤️🙏🏼

inspirational
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.