Poets logo

INTERNATIONAL WOMEN'S DAY.

Under the guise of the "good girl"

By Catherine NyomendaPublished 4 months ago 1 min read
INTERNATIONAL WOMEN'S DAY.
Photo by Jessica Felicio on Unsplash

Someone asked me recently

what was the one thing I liked

about myself

One thing

As if I was suddenly, somehow

reduced to parts

Instead of this whole, I have

spent a lifetime rediscovering

For, how can a woman be

complete in love?

Move with love

Breathe with love

Touch with love

How do you hold the wind?

And tame the fire?

How can I only love one thing?

For even my pain is divine.

Free Verse

About the Creator

Catherine Nyomenda

I love writing. I love the swirl of words as they tangle with human emotions. I am a flexible writer and can write almost anything, do you need any help creating content? Well then, get in touch...

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (3)

  • Novel Allen3 months ago

    I could be happy without the pain. It wreaks havoc on the heart. I would rather keep the heart whole and happy. Alas, it comes to us all. Another great one C.

  • Nahhh, no matter how divine it is, I still don't want pain. Hehehhe. Loved your poem!

  • Rachel Deeming4 months ago

    Yes! We are composites. I like the idea here, Catherine. Pain is part of us too.

Catherine NyomendaWritten by Catherine Nyomenda

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.