Poets logo

Inspired by K

Poetic Series 1

By Kenshae WestmorelandPublished 4 years ago 8 min read
Like
Taking my book apart and making it into a series so that I can connect with readers more and often. I hope you enjoy part one and excited for part three and so on. There will be ten series in total. Specifically designed to give off positive vibrations into your life.

"Sunshine gone come tomorrow"

Feeling bad luck or do you feel like nothing going your way?

Everything just going down the drain,

so bad you can’t even get a place to stay.

Maybe money running low and you ready to give up any day.

You not on your own don’t go out that way,

people go through things every day.

Relax, breath, and pray,

sunshine is on its way, don’t give up not today.

Even when it gets hard, it is a happy lane,

take your happiness serious because it’s hard to maintain.

Stay positive so you can have a better day than yesterday.

Grow and heal that long-life pain,

keep pushing through change gone reign, blessings gone rain.

Today the day you change the thinking of the brain,

you always grow and nothing remain the same.

Keep your faith in the name of his vein,

you beat the last test blessings is what you should claim.

When something goes wrong think of the next thing,

Manifest your own dreams, stay in your own lane.

By Sebastien Gabriel on Unsplash

"Letter to Heaven"

I miss you granny that’s that,

Matter of fact I wanna tell you,

I want cha back.

Also reflect on the pass and laugh,

I know you a lil older, so I won’t go fast.

I’m highly upset that I made it last to see your cold body on the scratch bed,

All I can remember I was holding your hand.

And I’ll never ask why, because it was always the plan,

Everybody time gone come, just don’t know when.

Just let the letter begin,

I need a friend,

I can’t pretend, but I’m tell you I’m stronger than I ever been.

Lost everything but didn’t bend,

Never stress for nothing because with god I’m gone win.

Thank you for showing me how to love man,

And keeping my peace through the strong wind.

I’m not sad because I see what you were going through,

I’m not sad because family is all you were holding on to.

I’m not sad because your creator got his hands on you,

And forever will I cherish the moments I have with you.

Thank you for teaching me how to push through,

I am chosen and I had no clue.

Realized the world was mine when I lost you,

Family broken up you was the glue.

It’s like you got sicker out the blue,

But the process was right in our review.

In realty if we paid attention to you and your every move,

From the last time playing uno with you and you were up and moving smooth,

We cooked and cleaned, you were always on my team,

But in the process, it was all just the end

No one never knew but I read, and I understand,

I felt your relief through your hand.

I made you laugh before the last stage,

I was there with you through your last days.

Trying my best to save you in the toughest way,

Just remember you would call, and call folks but I was a call away.

We click tight like chains that won’t break,

Together laughter is the sound we make.

Oh, I how I miss granny.

Skin

Pushed around, pushed away nobody wanted me to stay.

I am a female, no you a slave they say,

I have no rights segregation took them away.

My mind so gone, can't stand for my respect,

so what ima do now in the color of black.

Under my skin it's bones like the white man,

so how are we different because they gave us a title and nobody could fix it.

What about the 13th amendment?

Says, " slavery and involuntary servitude except as punishment for a crime."

So basically you a slave at any given time.

Working for a little money, and accused for crimes,

first it was slaves now it's criminals.

Why we get so many titles it's unbelievable?

I am a female under my skin,

Harriet Tubman freed the slaves, that was a black woman.

Black Panther's leader got shot,

they don't never want to see a black man on the spot.

Rapist, killer, robber, titles again!

Why he get shot without a gun in his hand?

Mr. King got shot just for having a dream.

We will get no respect just because the skin that we are in.

A Pass to the future

Stuck in between ready but not right now,

You will be stuck do it now.

Small goals to big goals still be proud,

Never let no one put you down.

This your pass to the future, and I can tell you how,

I'm here to tell you all your tribulations are to be faced with a smile.

No more frowning ,no more crying, no more throwing in the towel,

Been there and done that , and it's been a while.

Thank the universe for guidance for one don't know how.

Now ask your self where was you than?

And look at you now.

You wouldn't thought you made it through but it's the power of a smile.

Always stay positive and make your self proud,

For you control your actions with or without a crowd.

Be careful who you let around,

Energies are real and they get wild.

When you protect your peace there's no need to get loud,

The sun will shine so bright you won't notice a cloud.

Keep the positive thinking way more than mild,

You will achieve everything that you dreamed as a child.

The time is now and will forever be,

Try laughing at a bad situation and you will see.

It be the turn around of the problem for me,

and one know it may be hard but Ima give you the tea.

All you got to do is believe it's okay and the universe will receive.

Now that the universe have received,

it is time to do your deeds.

Get on the good chart and get all your needs,

Achieve your goals and plant all your seeds.

Every problem is a distraction to test your breed,

Never fall under pressure that's how you succeed.

If it's yours than its yours forever it will be,

It be the distractions that make you lose the vision you see.

Never give up and it won't be easy,

The time is now and will forever be.

Act now

It's time that you get up and act now,

It's time for you to make every one say wow.

Do it because it make you proud,

Don't worry about the how.

For if you thought it than it's in the works right now,

Everything you think you were gong to do have already been down.

It is the decisions you make that will give you your how,

Whatever it is make sure its your commitment,

Anytime you see your self , you see yourself winning.

Give yourself a reason to keep pushing through the seasons.

You won't have to worry about a what if and,

Actions are not for the weaken.

Be prepared to work hard,

Write everything down.

Keep your vision clear so you can feel it near,

Act now not later for the door is right there.

When you feel bubbly about your achievements,

You are moving in the right direction.

When you moving in your purpose,

There is no need to stress perfection.

When you doing what is right,

There will be no rejection.

The world is yours ,

You will feel no more neglections.

If you feeling scared than it's time NOW!

Only be me

If the world ended today, I can only be me,

Leading and winning is the only thing I see.

Living from place to place how fun that had to be,

Kept a smile on my face, cuz my creator will set me free.

Now that's how my name ended up in the tea,

They don't know where one come from,

They just know what they see.

No matter what one go through,

No matter how hard it may seem.

Stay positive and be the best you can be,

That's is the key to be free.

I can only be me.

I can only be me.

Think about it as wearing a shoe.

The same thing you walk through,

One might not relate to.

When it's said and done every life belongs to who?

You.

One have no say so for one sees it a different view,

Who are they to tell you what to do.

No explanation needed you were born without a crew,

Do whatever makes you happy too.

Your path and dreams were made for you,

Detox your body so that you can feel new.

Leaving my legacy behind for people to view,

Embracing all the struggles an using it for a stepping stool.

I can only be me with my flaws too,

If I can only be me,

You can just be you.

Fighter

Be a fighter.

Beat every obstacle you run into life.

Big or small you will win using all your might,

Set that goal up and hit it from the right.

There will be mountains and bears,

But don't ever lose sight.

There is no weapon form against you so you never lose a fight,

Whatever done in the dark will come to the light.

Stop using your energy if it's not for something bright,

Fight!

Achieve all your goals and fly high as an kite,

Some fighting from depression waking up through out the night.

Most fighting for a wage because their skin not white,

Be a fighter.

While every one else is being a doubter,

One decided to be the believer.

Believe anything that occur in my life is for a reason,

Stay positive that's is how to get to the next season.

No rain, sleet , nor snow gone stop you from rising,

it's kind of like surviving.

After practicing for so long having to fight through,

You realize every problem was meant to build you.

Do not give up

Have you woke up feeling good and all the stop lights was green?

Ain't stunnin nobody who was tryna be mean.

Everything works in your favor I mean,

Nothing could make you switch your behavior.

Bills paid now you praising your savior,

And all of a sudden there go hater.

Than boom,

You get a flat tire!

Now you hanging upside down on the wire,

Its not the end,

You about to go higher.

Don't give up,

It's a test to make you go harder.

Handle the situation with a smile,

Make your thinking a lil smarter.

Keep the positive vibes flowing,

Watch the room get brighter and solutions come quicker.

Trails will seem with out tribulations,

When you believe everything gone work out for something bigger.

Even when it's your last be a giver,

Do everything with a good leader.

Just don't give up it will make you weaker,

You came this far because you are a winner.

inspirational
Like

About the Creator

Kenshae Westmoreland

I focus on non-fiction and poetry writing, but I am a freelance writer. Currently, building my resume and working on a personal blog.

IG @thealexiusk DM serious Inq.

https://writers.work/inspiredbyk

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.