Poets logo

Inspirational

A Sonnet On How I Write

By Mike Singleton - MikeydredPublished about a year ago 1 min read
5

This is a response to a challenge from Jason Basaraba:

But that is now my challenge to you. Write a poem about your thought process and what gives you ideas.

Below is his poem on the subject.

Here is a video where I talk about my creative processes

I know whether it’s laziness but my favoured poetic form is the sonnet, and that is what I have chosen for this response.

❓ ❔ ❓ ❔ ❓ ❔ ❓ ❔ ❓ ❔ ❓ ❔ ❓ ❔

Where Do I Find My Inspiration?

Talking To My Muse Lets The Words Flow

Hearing Music Makes My Mind Aglow

Birdsong Is Another Direction

❓ ❔

Walking And Meeting With Feline Friends

Sets The Movement In My Mind To Work

Tales And Poems Emerge From The Blur

And Flow From My Fingers Once Again

❓ ❔

I Always Look For Things I Don’t Know

The Shock Of The New To Help Me Grow

Sometimes It’s Hard And Others Easy

Like This Sonnet Now Setting Me Free

❓ ❔

My First Muse Set Me On This Journey

Which Is Where I Have Arrived today

❓ ❔ ❓ ❔ ❓ ❔ ❓ ❔ ❓ ❔ ❓ ❔ ❓ ❔

inspirational
5

About the Creator

Mike Singleton - Mikeydred

Weaver of Tales, Poems, Music & Love

7(1.2m) ֎ Fb ֎ Px ֎ Pn ֎

X ֎ In ֎ YT (0.2m) ֎ T

Vocal Tips

Creationati

Call Me LesGina HeatherCaroline

BabsROCKDharCathyJudey

DaphsamMisty MelissaMa Coombs

Celia

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (4)

Sign in to comment
  • JBazabout a year ago

    I love how you knocked this out so quickly and so natural.

  • Cathy holmesabout a year ago

    Very nicely done.

  • Sonnets are a favorite of mine, too. Is this a homebrew format? I don't think I've ever seen one with this meter and rhyme scheme before. I like it!

  • Emily Marie Concannonabout a year ago

    Sonnets are some of my favorites too!! Although I'm not the best at writing them. This flowed really well! I liked it a lot!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.