Poets logo

Insignificant

Value is hard to see in yourself sometimes. Here's my impulse poem on that exact feeling.

By CosmicSongbird321PenPublished 2 years ago 2 min read
2
Insignificant
Photo by Simon Hurry on Unsplash

There is nothing here to see,

There is nothing here to perceive.

For I am nothing but a simple person,

And there is nothing special about me,

What do I do for a living? I just live.

That's it, that's all there is to me.

Do I like to write? Yes I do.

Do I have anything to show for it? Not really.

Everything I've tried to write has never made it into existence.

All of my actualized pieces have either been lost or are less than double digits.

Do I have a favorite hobby? Yes it's called web surfing and music consumption.

Do I have any other hobbies? Yes, they're called video games and fanfiction reading.

I know you'll probably ask if I have any other hobbies.

I can tell you right now that I do have other hobbies.

The problem here lies in what value do those hobbies have to you?

I truly do not believe that my hobbies will impress anyone.

I am not the superhuman fascination that I'd rather be,

Over the disappointing failure of an abnormal individual.

I can recite the times of happiness I felt from when I was a boy.

I can relish the peaceful privacy I get from having time to myself.

But how can I relish my humanity when I barely allow myself to share it with other people around me?

Why do I fear becoming significant so much?

Why am I even more afraid of being so insignificant?

People are not meant to be seen as higher than everyone else,

As being above the rest of the entire world.

And yet, when I get closer to giving up on ever being successful,

When I become disillusioned with my life and my relationships,

I like to fantasize about becoming bigger than life.

I want to transform into that bigger than life person that I know I can be.

Because people who are bigger than life attract great people to their sides.

They have friends and family they can trust and like to be around.

They are not insignificant since they succeed in impressing people with their wonderful creations and attributes.

My achievements have never been enough to even earn a single trophy,

So why should I get the opportunity to be significant to the universe?

Why do I get to have good things while people much better than me lose everything?

Am I really that worthy of great privileges in life?

Because someone as simple and invisible as I am should be held to higher standards that most people hold me to.

I feel insignificant no matter which of these are true, so why should I expect anything else?

There is nothing here to see or perceive, so there is no significance to gain from taking note of me.

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

*Please feel free to leave a heart and comment if you enjoyed my work. I'd like to get some engagement going on for my work. Thank you!*

performance poetrysad poetryheartbreak
2

About the Creator

CosmicSongbird321Pen

I am a longtime creative fiction writer in-progress. I want to write tons of sci-fi, fantasy, drama and comedy stories and so much more. I'd like to one day write scripts for tv shows and maybe even movies. I also like writing poems too.

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insights

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.