Poets logo

Afro-Diasporic Continental Sentiments

The Black African Diaspora has always been important to me as a black person in America.

By CosmicSongbird321PenPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like
Afro-Diasporic Continental Sentiments
Photo by Clarke Sanders on Unsplash

The Black African Diaspora has always been important to me as a black person in America.

As a 2nd Generation Jamaican-American Black person I always knew I had family relatives across both the US and Jamaica.

Across the ocean is the populace of my cousins and aunts and uncles.

The shared histories of black people forces us to be aware of that fact.

Because no one comes straight out of nowhere you know.

I’ve always known that my family lineage didn’t pop out of the ether.

Because where would my look have come from?

My dark brown eyes with my onyx black curly and kinky hair along with my brown skin,

My nose and ears, the shape of my eyes, my hands and feet, and my birth mark,

The black dot on the lower corner at the front of my bottom left cheek,

I was born with these features, and they didn’t form for no reason.

No, I was given these because of my genetics, because of how human DNA works.

These features are things to be proud of and to live proudly in.

They are not gross traits to be disgusted by or ashamed of, unlike what some would think.

Most people would look at my features and think me unattractive or dirty.

Across the world’s history, darker skin and bigger bodies have been stigmatized.

Even with the most glamorous makeup and clothing, darker skin is seen as lowly and unclean.

No matter which body of land I travel to, lighter looks are the standard worldwide.

The Eurocentric standards may present a huge hurdle of challenges for me and my cousins,

But across the ocean, we are all worthy in our skin and our bodies.

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

*Please feel free to leave a heart and comment if you enjoyed my work. I'd like to get some engagement going on for my work. Thank you!*

inspirationalsocial commentaryslam poetry
Like

About the Creator

CosmicSongbird321Pen

I am a longtime creative fiction writer in-progress. I want to write tons of sci-fi, fantasy, drama and comedy stories and so much more. I'd like to one day write scripts for tv shows and maybe even movies. I also like writing poems too.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.