Poets logo

Inside the Lookingglass

A Poem

By Mother CombsPublished 2 months ago 1 min read
7
Image by Willgard Krause from Pixabay

I never see myself in the Lookingglass

I stare at the stranger standing before me

She beckons for me to follow her as she turns

And walks to the stairs inside the mirror

Disappearing through the door at the top of the steps

In fear, I back away from the Lookingglass

And run from the near-empty ballroom

I swear I won’t go back to look in the mirror

I swear to stay away from the ballroom

But it is always a lie, for I always go back

I always look in the mirror, and I always see the same thing

The stranger staring back at me

She beckons to me and turns

This time, I follow along behind her

Passing through the glass of the mirror

As if it was made of water, to never return

To my side of the Lookingglass again

surreal poetryFree VerseFor Funfact or fiction
7

About the Creator

Mother Combs

Come near, sit a spell, and listen to tales of old as I sit and rock by my fire. I'll serve you some cocoa and cookies as I tell you of the time long gone by when your Greats-greats once lived.

Admin = ViM

PViM

Mike Judey Dharr Grz

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (4)

Sign in to comment
  • Randy Wayne Jellison-Knock2 months ago

    Alice, wait...!

  • Daphsam2 months ago

    Very thought provoking, well written.

  • I wonder if it's nice on the other side of the mirror. If it is, I wanna follow along. Hehehehe

  • Babs Iverson2 months ago

    Super surreal & loved it!!!💕❤️❤️

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.