Poets logo

Insecurities

Facing myself

By Moni SchexPublished 12 months ago 1 min read
Like
Insecurities
Photo by Bernard on Unsplash

It’s not fair that I project my insecurities onto you

That I’m still healing from this

For a chance at an us

I should be whole for you as I desire from you

Completely together

Packaged purposefully

But honestly I connect with your emotional unavailability

There is stability in my instability

A safe harbor that I’ve always known

To come out of my comfort zone

To trust fully

Are fleeting thoughts

Laughable suggestions even

The notion is preposterous

That would mean I’m in touch with a level of vulnerability that I dare not imagine

Because

What happens if you actually come through?

How do I deal with you actually showing up and being there for me?

What if

Just, what if you actually aren’t here for games?

Just what if you actually mean me no harm?

Just what if you actually gave a damn?

How the hell do I handle that?

surreal poetrysocial commentaryslam poetrysad poetryperformance poetrylove poemsinspirationalheartbreak
Like

About the Creator

Moni Schex

I write through my emotions. Each poem is an excerpt from the moment in time I’m existing in at the time of writing.

My short stories reflect past observances, insights, and imaginative reflections on situations.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.