Poets logo

Insanity

Mutually Assured Destruction

By Jack Wayne ArnettPublished 4 years ago 1 min read
1

The fires streak to heaven and fields burn. The earth trembles and man’s lesson is learned. Skies light is a funeral pyre and man’s fate is like a quagmire. Brilliant sounds of alarms as chaos reigns, from up above the hell it rains. Panic stricken run for cover, this is no time to love one another. The beast awoke and death it stroke, the rubble and smoke makes me choke. How could we provoke so many words misspoke? There is no cover and this end to come. Death from above, at least we strike back, assured mutual destruction no one will win. We die with the sin of so many souls taken, mankind is forsaken. A brilliant flash, avert my eyes. Skin burns so hot I nearly forgot. Fall down houses of cards the hot wind blows. Cry out in vain, wreak havoc in pain. I steal one last breath as I lay skyward. My last vision of life like a steel cold knife, the fiery boom of a mushroom cloud. I hope both sides are proud as I try to scream so loud. Within a blink life fades, no more pain. All mankind has gone insane.

sad poetry
1

About the Creator

Jack Wayne Arnett

I enjoy writing in many genres. My favorite is horror, but I also enjoy poetry, romance and military life. I love the challenge of writing outside my comfort zone as a challenge. I live in Riverside, California and have 5 daughters.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.