Poets logo

Innocence Overlooked by Poverty

Poem about poverty

By JohnPublished 4 years ago 1 min read
Like
“Based on a True Story”

Innocence Overlooked by Poverty

I leave my house exhilarated.

The delicate yard smell,

The rumbling truck outside my house belonging to the workers.

My so luscious clothes

That Mold my body.

My shoes dancing on my feet.

As I embark on my journey across the path,

“Be safe” I hear aloud

from my father chanting in the background.

As I look back to wish a big goodbye,I don’t see my father,my eyes shift.

My soul locks with the eyes calling for help.

The boy my age cutting our trees,

The ones who’s eyes cry of misery.

His clothes reek of overuse and Uncare,

I see in him.

His brain drowning in poverty and shame.

His hunger shouts at me,

He aches a need for help

Opening my eyes wide and clear.

My shoes stop dancing,

His eyes stare as I walk from the emptiness he leaves with me.

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.