Poets logo

Inner Wars

Unbottling the pain.

By Chrisie HoppsPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like

The crisp crackling of a raging flame

The hard-scaled dragon that cannot be tamed

The harsh jolt to melancholy

Suffocating in your mind, an emotional anomoly.

The darkness overwhelms

It's too dark to see

The glimpses of starlight that wash over me.

The never-ending journey of swift ups and downs

The whirlpool in my head in which I quickly drown

The reaching out to be met with rejection

Longing for but a crumb of affection.

The cold shivers when someone gets close

Endless wandering, as a petrified ghost

Will they ever see me?

From the outside looking in

Patiently waiting for real life to begin.

The disconnection from all reality

Nothing but a void

I'm running on empty

The crushing trauma is all I see

I'm clawing and screaming

Though they can't feel me.

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Chrisie Hopps

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.