Poets logo

Inked

People Change. Ink Remains.

By Sarah JanePublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 1 min read
1
That Goal Completion Glow After Years of Blood, Sweat, Tears, and Research ✨💎⛏️🤘🏼 #geobabe

I see her almost everyday

She sees me working hard and grinding away

:

Today she saw me and said

she didn't recognized me

:

If I had a dollar for everytime

someone told me that

over all these years I've changed

I wouldn't have student debt to pay

:

She said she only recognized me

because the tattoo on my finger

:

She sat and listened to me speak

but it took her a while to realize it was me

:

"The f-hole gave it away."

As she saw my hands

move across the paper

"The resonance, not the integral!"

:

The ink stains helped her remember

who I was

after she was reintroduced

to who I am

:

I guess you glow different

when you change internally

but the ink on your skin

remains imprinted

:

People change

everyday

but ink underneath skin

marks the path of who you were

before who you became

fact or fiction
1

About the Creator

Sarah Jane

Writing has been Sarah's passion since she was 7 years-old when she began writing poetry and short stories. Now, she's sharing her gift with the world. Subscribe, and come take a whirl in her words.

Tips are appreciated!

IG: @sarahjane.speaks

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.