Poets logo

Words In Water

Lost In A Watery Grave

By Sarah JanePublished 2 years ago 2 min read
Like
Cleansing My Thoughts With Ink Blood

The most devastating feeling

for a writer is

losing your favorite notebook

:

The one with all your thoughts

and feelings spread

like butter on toast

:

Edge to edge

Words scrunched between the crust

of the notebook’s covers

:

Pinned up against the spine

Trailing the edges

:

I lost my leather bound notebook

but it didn’t just disappear

It was a tragic demise

:

I lost what it was

to a washing machine

:

How do you ask?

It was hiding in a small pocket

of my backpack

Although I thought

I shook it out til it was empty

:

I washed my favorite notebook

with my new polaroids

wedged in the pages

:

I realized it when I opened the dryer

and each photograph came out

with shirts, pants, and socks

:

It’s like the washing machine

was mocking me

for not checking as thoroughly

as I should have

:

I nearly cried

knowing that was the only home left

for those words that spilled from my skull

:

To my surprise

The pictures still looked vivid

even after their cool bath

:

My notebook however

did not reflect that

:

I dried it the best I could

After I sifted through

the pages

and I was surprised again

:

Most my words still remained

:

I looked at the ones faded

I could make out some phrases

maybe a sentence or two

:

But there was some words

lost in the water

that may never return

:

I grieved for my loss

of words forgotten on a page

lost in a watery grave

:

Then I remembered

everything happens for a reason

Maybe it was time to cleanse

myself of those old words

left lonely on well-aged pages

:

Or

maybe even now

those words are weaved into my clothes

And maybe while i’m wearing them

the ones I need

will come back to say hello

fact or fiction
Like

About the Creator

Sarah Jane

Writing has been Sarah's passion since she was 7 years-old when she began writing poetry and short stories. Now, she's sharing her gift with the world. Subscribe, and come take a whirl in her words.

Tips are appreciated!

IG: @sarahjane.speaks

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.