Poets logo

Infallible Youth

A Poem

By Kevin KlabonPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
2
Infallible Youth
Photo by Chang Duong on Unsplash

Hello my youth, yes it is to whom that I speak!

What is it that you have done? Why have you been such a fool?

You have brought about such a shame and put a black mark upon thy name!

With reckless abandon and your foolish games, you cripple the unforeseen.

For pleasure, you had sought but forfeited the grey lines in-between.

I speak to you forthwith, but it is time we can not move, damn the foolish youth!

This older man curses like a bumbling fool, for on deaf ears, the young can not hear.

The path you seized, walls of prison you freeze, for the foolish get what they reap.

In fields of clay, you plant your seeds; do you not perceive that they will never grow?

Damn the foolish moppet, thwarting with those who have come before.

Unfailing youth, the future you can not read; you know not your numbered days.

I yearn to converse with those who've fallen, for infallible you are not!

Often I reminisce the days that we would laugh, never knowing they would be our last.

A ghost in time they will always be, a lifetime, it seems; those memories still haunt me.

I speak to you, infallible youth, but father time is always on the move.

I wish you could see through the eyes of the weathered man, old as he may be.

To my youth, I wish I could speak. Nay, for I would not be able to teach my son today.

performance poetry
2

About the Creator

Kevin Klabon

I am an artist, a musician, an author, a poet, a magician of the written word.

I live no life without pen and paper, or a paintbrush in hand.

If you could share your love for what I love, I would love you to the moon.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.