Poets logo

Indolence

"Our birth is but a sleep and a forgetting."-Wordsworth

By Vivian ClarkePublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like
Indolence
Photo by Ann Danilina on Unsplash

INDOLENCE

Indolence is bliss

As the balm for

Hardly Recognized Dreams

Which slip beneath my pillows and sheets

And disappear in little streams

Indolence is bliss

As the cure for

The Path to Nowhere

Anything impossibly taunting

Can be forgotten in a sleep-of-no-care

Indolence is bliss

As the cure for

The Impediment of Youth

Which acts older than its years

But still looks so uncouth

Indolence is bliss

As the cure for

Absolutely Nothing at All

Sleep and sleep as I might

I still carry Adam’s Fall.

2010

SLEEP

I do and I don't

I will and I won't

Wake up early tomorrow

I'll sleep through my sorrow

2020

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Vivian Clarke

Third-culture-kid-now-adult with a melancholic disposition trying to make sense of life, like anyone else.

I live for my daughter, cats, and coffee.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.