Poets logo

Incense

Wafting Intention

By Julie O'Hara - Author, Poet and Spiritual WarriorPublished 12 months ago Updated 8 months ago 1 min read
3

I light the incense on my altar

Watching the smoke waft

Toward the heavens

I sit cross-legged on the floor

My palms facing upwards

My thumb and forefinger making a circle

And I slide and fall into the darkness

Of my consciousness

Seeking guidance from the Holy Ones

I ask the ancients, the old, wizened ones

“How can we survive?

When we are so broken and lost?”

I plead with them to show me

The Truth

To give me hope

To stand behind me

As I fight the adversity

Of humanity’s ego

That is destroying us

Like a deep malevolent cancer

I light the incense on my altar

Watching the smoke waft

Toward the heavens

- Julie O'Hara 2023

Thank you for reading my poem or article. Please feel free to subscribe to see more content and if you are moved to, please consider tipping. In addition, my books can be found at https: Julie O'Hara Bookshop

sad poetry
3

About the Creator

Julie O'Hara - Author, Poet and Spiritual Warrior

Thank you for reading my work. Feel free to contact me with your thoughts or if you want to chat. [email protected]

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Babs Iverson12 months ago

    Amazing!!! Heartbreaking, yet beautiful!!!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.