Poets logo

Incarcerated

A free verse poem

By Talia DevoraPublished 7 months ago 1 min read
8
Incarcerated
Photo by Nick Fewings on Unsplash

For several gruesome days and nights,

I’ve been emotionally incarcerated

in my own mind, body, and spirit;

I can’t bear it for that much longer.

These intense feelings and sounds of heavy, rapid breathing,

wailing internally and externally,

abominably painful body aches,

and inner temper tantrums

are suffocating me.

Every single day

I unwillingly wake up

from a well-needed nights sleep,

I ask myself this question:

“When will I finally be released from inner prison?”

Before I know it,

I’ll be granted emotional parole,

which is what I’m looking forward to

very, very much.

Once I’ve been emotionally paroled,

I’ll be able to say farewell

to these evil inmates

I’ve been emotionally incarcerated with

for 48 long and mundane hours.

If I want to be released as soon as possible,

I have to let G-d do His job,

so He can release me

swiftly, privately, and peacefully.

By Dan Gold on Unsplash

Thank you for taking the time to read another one of my poems. If you enjoyed reading this, please give it a ❤️, share it with others, comment, and please feel free to send a tip to show your appreciation and support. To find and read more exciting and interesting content, please hit the "magic subscribe button" and visit my public profile. Stay tuned for more poetry, recipes, stories, and much more!

Please feel free to keep in touch with me!

IG: @tdwrites24

By Aditya Saxena on Unsplash

surreal poetrysad poetry
8

About the Creator

Talia Devora

Poetess, visual artist and lifestyle/quiz writer! My pastimes include reading, sleeping, gaming, music, fitness, etc! Be yourselves, be kind and value life! Let's connect and be friends!

My IG accounts: @tdwrites24 & @tdcreates97

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Add your insights

Comments (4)

Sign in to comment
  • Cathy holmes6 months ago

    Beautifully written.

  • Babs Iverson7 months ago

    Talia, everything is temporary Trust G-d!!! Another brilliantly written poem!!!❤️❤️💕

  • Veronica Coldiron7 months ago

    This is very insightful a dredged up a lot of deeply hidden issues. Beautifully written! 😍

  • 🥹💯♥️📝This is Deep but eventually a rainbow 🌈 will appear… Stay Consistent You are Stronger than you think my friend😉, Thank you for sharing this❗

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.