Poets logo

Content warning

This story may contain sensitive material or discuss topics that some readers may find distressing. Reader discretion is advised. The views and opinions expressed in this story are those of the author and do not necessarily reflect the official policy or position of Vocal.

in///under my skin

Poem. Self-Reflection.

By Paul StewartPublished 5 months ago 1 min read
Created by me with the help of ChatGPT/Dall-E

i feel you///creep

i

n///under.

my skin

where you///end

do I begin

never sure,

is that convenient?

were I just b

y your design

can I break

...free,

will you///keep me

locked i

n///

this cage,

your prison

you///we

drown me

i

n///lies

self-fulfilling

prophecies

worthy of

n...

nothing of

v...

value or goodness

ending. same as

beginning. alone...i

n///the dark

*

burn my eyes from the truth

eye for eye, tooth for tooth

burn my heart from the pain

art for art, stain of shame

brand my soul from control

stolen soul, empty hole

regarding the guarding

her garden i

n///ruins

degrading the radiant

her heart i

n///ruins

suitably subtlety

my weakness, not hers

reckless and loveless

my damage, not hers

*

moments come, moments go

stuck i

n///a loop, to and fro

people live, people die

stuck i

n///a loop, how and why

///We're not infallible, indelible

reaching for something, anything

that matters, to us and them

that makes, life worth living

more than

moments, the to and fro, come and go

*

the curve

of experience

the slant

of life

the bend

of it all

the trend

of it all

for giving

forgiveness

for going

forging ahead

the dulling

from experience

the sullen

from life

the boredom

from it all

the trivial

from it all

for getting

forgotten

for aging

foraging

*

Thanks for reading!

Author's Notes: This originally started at as a number of different pieces I was working on for the Inverse Challenge, but I realised they closely aligned so created this instead. I may still enter the separate pieces for the Inverse challenge though. This does not qualify in its complete form, and that's fine.

surreal poetrysocial commentarysad poetryperformance poetryheartbreakFree Verseart

About the Creator

Paul Stewart

Scottish-Italian poet/writer from Glasgow.

Overflowing in English language torture and word abuse.

"Every man has a sane spot somewhere" R.L Stevenson

The Accidental Poet - Poetry Collection is now available!

https://paulspoeticprints.etsy.com

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (13)

  • Poppy 5 months ago

    This is amazing Paul! I read it as a song, the kind that makes people scream the lyrics to emotionally as a kind of therapy. It's so masterfully created, I'm in awe

  • I feel this, in all the scattered places into which it wanders through all the questions for which I have no have answers. Nicely done, Paul.

  • Cathy holmes5 months ago

    This is great. It just reaches out, grabs the reader and pulls them in. I felt like I was inside your thoughts watching your words come to life. What a trip!

  • Shirley Belk5 months ago

    I feel these thoughts!!

  • Babs Iverson5 months ago

    Spectacular!!! Loving it!!!♥️♥️💕

  • Hehehehehe I rapped this whole thing! It was so intense and I freaking loved it! You've been missing for quite some time. Hope you're doing well 🍩🥐

  • Caroline Jane5 months ago

    This feels like Paul's inferno. It's as though there is a ladder into your consciousness that we are descending into. Fascinating tbh!

  • Sonia Heidi Unruh5 months ago

    I've never read anything like this! The dynamism of the form, the flow of the words -- playful, mysterious, compelling, disturbing. I love how the structure complements the theme of being stuck, imprisoned -- the text visually is struggling to break free. Then that last, verse free-falling like a waterfall ... "the curve / of experience / the slant / of life / the bend / of it all / the trend / of it all ..." streams like a spoken word poem in my mind. So well done and profound!

  • Dana Crandell5 months ago

    This combination created a fragmented feeling to the piece that I really enjoyed. Well done, sir!

  • Kendall Defoe 5 months ago

    Everything///okay?🫢

  • Hannah Moore5 months ago

    I was thinking how those pave changes gave so much texture to it, but I didn't realise they had ever been completely separate.

  • Test5 months ago

    That was a wonderful piece of writing.

  • John Cox5 months ago

    Paul, I love how you experimented with the poetic form here, and how it generates a stuttering rhythmic quality until the narrator breaks free in a brief and manic torrent. In the end, the poem feels like a process of discovery. The alliteration and assonance of for and from is especially effective as is the experiment of juxtaposing words with similar spelling (more alliteration). Ending with - For getting Forgotten For aging Foraging was especially potent and thought provoking. Great writing as always!

Paul StewartWritten by Paul Stewart

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.