Poets logo

IN THIS WORLD OF CONTRADICTIONS AND FEAR

- You Are the Reason My Heart Holds Dear

By Dawnxisoul393artPublished about a month ago 2 min read

In the realm of love's hidden depths,

A secret blossoms, quietly kept,

For all deep love, a sacred truth,

Reserved for you, my heart's sweet muse.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

You are my expectation, my desire,

A contradictory dream, a burning fire,

Like the wind, elusive and free,

I yearn to catch what I can't see.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

In your presence, I feel a gentle breeze,

Caressing my soul with tender ease,

Yet, like the wind's ethereal touch,

You slip through my fingers, oh, so much.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

I long to embrace you, hold you near,

But you elude me, my love, my dear,

Like a gust of wind that swiftly goes,

Leaving me craving, longing, in throes.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

You are the wine I dare not taste,

Intoxicating nectar, a lingering haze,

Afraid to lose myself in your embrace,

Yet yearning for the sweetness of your grace.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Like a forbidden elixir, you entice,

I fear the intoxication, the price,

But with every sip, I yearn for more,

To drown in your love, to my very core.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

All deep affection, a sacred devotion,

Reserved for you, my heart's true potion,

In your presence, contradictions fade,

And a love's symphony begins to cascade.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

You are the secret I hold within,

A whisper of love, a cherished sin,

In the depths of my being, you reside,

A flame that burns, unable to hide.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

With every breath, my love, I confess,

You are the one who brings me solace,

In this world of contradictions and fear,

You are the reason my heart holds dear.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

So let the love we share remain unseen,

A secret bond, transcending the routine,

For in the sacred space between me and you,

Our love flourishes, pure and true.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

All deep love is a secret, it is said,

But in our hearts, let it be widespread,

For in the depths of our affection's bliss,

We find a love that can never be dismissed.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

You are my expectation, my sweet desire,

A dream that sets my soul on fire,

Though elusive like the wind's gentle sigh,

Forever in my heart, you'll reside.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

And as for the wine, I'll take a chance,

To taste the love, to join in the dance,

For life's too short to fear getting drunk,

In your love's intoxication, I shall be sunk.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

So let our love be the secret we keep,

A treasure hidden, buried deep,

In the depths of our souls, forever entwined,

A love that defies all space and time.

love poems

About the Creator

Dawnxisoul393art

Dawnxisoul393art, an art and design couple who love writing and poetry.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

  • Esala Gunathilakeabout a month ago

    Wow it is like a fabulous craft for me. The way you compare the wind and your lover is something to learn to all the poets. The message you give to her is soothing us. I learned some new words too.

  • shanmuga priyaabout a month ago

    ........A contradictory dream, a burning fire,.....these lines are more captivating... I like your poem.👍😊

Dawnxisoul393artWritten by Dawnxisoul393art

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.