Poets logo

In their voice

something different

By Mawazo NiyoPublished 4 years ago 1 min read
Like
In their voice
Photo by Abishek on Unsplash

They ask me if I was hungry

as if they were going to feed me

I was at edge of the hunger

they were not really going to feed me

they wanted to see my reaction

I was happy they thought of me

Little girl walked up to me, asked me?

Why aren’t you eating with us?

I told her, your parents wouldn’t be happy

They snatch her away like I was some kind of monster

She cried in vain as they pulled her away

She waves with sadness

That’s the last time I saw her.

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.