Poets logo

In the Stars

A Poem

By Tabitha RosePublished 6 years ago 1 min read
Like

Eleven months ago you told me you were working on yourself.

I knew that this was for the best

And maybe we'd survive this test

But, you were gone, and that's okay.

Maybe you'd come back one day.

So I waded through velvet and glitter and gold,

And stumbled over choices a little too bold.

Forests of beards and cherry red lips,

A feeling of emptiness inside every kiss.

I wondered why numbness encased my tongue,

'Til I saw their eyes were empty.

And your eyes were whole.

Electric affairs should've been a tiny bliss,

But you can't hold a hand when the fingers don't fit.

On the mound of my palm, just below the ring,

Your initial is carved, telling just about everything.

Then that one autumn day when I saw you again,

My search light crawled out, landing right on your head.

We knew in that moment where we needed to be.

I should be with you, and you should be with me.

Now my hands are the numb ones,

I forgot how to breathe.

But my tongue is on fire with words I can't conceive.

In you are shades of blue that I have never seen before

And I want you in the stars with me,

For now and evermore.

love poems
Like

About the Creator

Tabitha Rose

Just a 5'2 girl trying to make it in the big old world of theatre.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.