Poets logo

In the Halls of the Great Mountain King

Of a dream of the past

By Syed Arabi KhaliquePublished about a year ago 1 min read
Top Story - December 2022
20

In the Halls of the Great Mountain King,

There sat a bewitching maiden who sings

Songs of an impending doom and a day of reckoning,

Brought forth by the Behemoth King, at his beckoning.

The Golden court beheld me in its presence,

Strange was it, for the Mountain King's absence.

But lone wasn't I, for the singing maiden held me in her gaze,

And as I returned that stare, I became trapped in her maze.

Against a rainbow twilight the still unknown saga began,

If my heart wasn't taken I would have ran.

Such are the fashions of the dreams that afflict me,

Worse than nightmares are the sights I see,

For the effect lingers even in my waking hours,

And strange shadows evade my sight, as I cower.

The eerie dream has come to me four times in the last year,

Leaving behind a chill in my heart, of both love and fear.

Why do I feel this way for that maiden of the Golden Court?

Strange is this emotion, foreign to me is its origin in short.

Oft of an unrequited love bores the creation of our misery,

Of what mine was begotten is an uncanny mystery to me,

But somewhere in the Halls of the Great Mountain King,

I may yet find the answers, for all the eyes to be seen.

surreal poetry
20

About the Creator

Syed Arabi Khalique

I am a guy from Jersey who is trying to put down in words what nightmares afflict him, hoping that will somewhat sweeten the deadly ordeal.

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

Add your insights

Comments (7)

Sign in to comment
  • Tina D'Angeloabout a year ago

    Hall of the Mountain King- haven't thought of that music in a long time. I needed it- thank you.

  • Reminds of the Edward Greig song Pierre Gint and The Hall of The Mountain King.

  • Moritz Bauerabout a year ago

    I had to stop my music to hear the words flow in their own rhythm. great storytelling, not too repetitive and also very personal! so cool:)

  • Erika Ravnsborgabout a year ago

    Wow! This sounds kind of romantic

  • Julia Schulzabout a year ago

    Enjoyed it ..reminds me of the 60's psychedelic song!

  • Melissa Ingoldsbyabout a year ago

    Cool and original story, I enjoyed this! Hearted and congratulations on your top story!

  • Cathy holmesabout a year ago

    Very nicely done.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.