Poets logo

In the Fox’s Den

What the Rabbit Never Saw Coming

By Julianna BlackburnPublished 6 years ago 1 min read
Like

What a teeny, tiny rabbit with such little rabbit feet. They’re swift, nimble, and always running, but they’ll never outrun me. Oh, little baby bunny, with such dainty, fluffy ears. What are you doing all alone with no one close to hear? Innocent little cony, you are so fragile and so frail, with a precious little nose and a delightful little tail. You sit twiddling your little whiskers, never spotting these green eyes glow. You are not yet knowing, all the reasons to hide and lie low. I snicker and I sneer as you hop idly by. I swoop out and follow ever so stealthy and so sly.

“Why hello little one, ever so near and dear!” I give a toothy grin but I cannot help but leer. “I bring to you a juicy berry, a treat for you to eat. Don’t dare fret or be weary. I come with many sweets. There are berries, black and blue, and the freshest of clovers. You can have them all— if you scamper on over. I have so many goodies, all that you can eat. Just come a little closer, so we can kindly meet.”

With one reluctant hop then two, my voracity abruptly grew. And at that moment it was clear, this hapless cottontail knew no fear. He plucked the berry from my paw, never minding my lengthy claws. He champed at the berry messily, and I told the coy rabbit to follow me. For the rest of the delicacies are in my den, and nobody saw the little rabbit again.

nature poetry
Like

About the Creator

Julianna Blackburn

I am aspiring to be more, in life and as a person. May this be my platform for success and also be a positive outlet for my creativity and burdens.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.