Poets logo

In the Distance

Poem

By Jlynn SheaksPublished 6 years ago 1 min read
Like

In the distance, I see a form starting to emerge

I can feel the form calling to me

It knows that I must keep going

In the distance, I see all these obstacles in front of me

And I suddenly begin to doubt myself

I have waited so long to get where I am today

I have fought many battles both physically and mentally

I have gone through loss and have had hope

I have overcome my fears and erased any remorse

In the distance, I still see a form and it's calling me

Saying that this is something that I need to do

I must continue, I must keep moving

But I am afraid to move, I instantly feel like I am rooted to the ground

I start to collect my thoughts and keep my focus on the positive

I start to stretch my arms and feel the weight off of my back

I start to lean and twist and move all around

I can start to move my feet again and I know that I can make it

In the distance, I see that the form is taking shape now

I am getting closer and closer to where I am destined to be

Finally I see a bright, white, light and I head into it with no fear

It is then that I wake up in a hospital bed surrounded by all my loved ones

They are happy to see that I have woken up, happy that I have made it

I was glad that I kept going towards the form that I had seen in front of me

It was my family calling out to me, saying they wanted me to come back to them

I was not done with the things in my life and it was time for me to wake up

In the distance, I saw those familiar shapes

I somehow knew they were my loves ones calling me back

In the distance, I knew that I had to race towards those who said my name

For it was there that I started over, and I got a second chance at life.

inspirational
Like

About the Creator

Jlynn Sheaks

I am a single mother of three beautiful daughters. I often think too much and sometimes ideas just come to me. Joined this to get my ideas, stories, and poems out there.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.