Poets logo

In December

Ask me in December, Babs' unofficial Challenge

By Hannah MoorePublished 12 days ago 1 min read
22

For Babs Iverson's Ask Me In December Challenge

If you should happen to see me,

Then please turn your heart away.

Please don’t try to remember,

The light on that cold springtime day,

You were not quite yourself,

And I was all that I am,

When we laughed under street lights,

When you un-gloved my hand,

When you asked me that question,

When your hopes turned to dust,

When I grabbed for an answer,

That would guard safe your trust.

“Ask me again in December.”

“But love, its April now.”

“Then don’t ask, not now, not ever,

I’ll make you no promise, no vow.”

Now Christmas lights are gleaming,

The river reflects back their glow,

And I’m thinking of you on this evening,

And the places where we used to go.

I wonder if you could be near me,

In one of these cafes or bars,

Warm in the clamour of people,

Or alone under sparkling stars.

I wonder, if you had just weathered,

One summer, one autumn, one wound,

Would we be here tonight, together?

Would our dreams at last be attuned?

But the lights go out in the cafe’s,

The river slinks back into gloom,

The people disperse into alleys,

And I’m left alone with the moon,

And I hope that if you did see me,

You turned and kept walking away.

Don’t ask me again this December,

For I was not willing to stay.

heartbreak
22

About the Creator

Hannah Moore

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (14)

Sign in to comment
  • Novel Allen9 days ago

    Cold cold hearted woman. I guess it has to be the right ask, no matter april june or december. Ah the heart that yearns to be free.

  • D.K. Shepard11 days ago

    Very lyrical and tragically beautiful. Reread a few times especially the lines “You were not quite yourself, And I was all that I am,”

  • Kodah11 days ago

    This was sooo beautiful 💝Heartbreaking for sure!💘

  • Lamar Wiggins12 days ago

    Happy endings are sometimes expected but not always necessary. I was routing for one but understand that my feelings are not those of the character’s reality. Why push it if it doesn’t work. Great poem, Hannah!

  • L.C. Schäfer12 days ago

    Oh what a beautiful ouch this was ❤️

  • Paul Stewart12 days ago

    Argh...always in the feels. I love...like others have said how you took us to the brink...how we felt those lovely...warm fuzzy feelings...and then there was the loss...like you said to someone else...loves that we have...especially those really deep ones...but arguably anyone that has ever touched us or we have ttouched their lives...never really goes...it gets added into the mix somewhere...we move on...find new loves etc...but we still remember them somewhere...and that's fine. So yeah...this is beautiful...so poetic...so many/too many brilliant lines...so sad, but that fine line between sad and happy, heartbreaking and romantic. Great entry and take on the challenge.

  • This reminded me of the song "Champagne Problems" by Taylor Swift. Your poem also portrays my situation because I'm not willing to get married so it was very relatable. Loved your poem!

  • Caroline Craven12 days ago

    Gosh this was heartbreaking. So many phenomenal lines in this but I think ‘the river slinks back into gloom’ is my favourite.

  • John Cox12 days ago

    Wow! You have such a sure and steady hand as a poet, Hannah! The meter and melody carry the poem so adroitly that the resulting feeling and power of the lines take the reader by surprise. Cathy is right, I smiled at the memories you evoked and was saddened that it was lost forever.

  • Cathy holmes12 days ago

    This is amazing. I want to smile for the memories and cry for the lost love. Beautiful poem.

  • JBaz12 days ago

    This piece takes me back to a time of innocence, when we were young and trying to figure out love and if it is real or a fantasy we made bigger than it really is.

  • There were so many lines in this I loved. Lines like the river slinks back into gloom... really all the river lines and I wonder if you had just weathered one summer one autumn one wound floored me

  • Babs Iverson12 days ago

    Romantic and heartbreaking!!! Love it!!!💕❤️❤️

  • Rachel Deeming12 days ago

    This is very film noir, I think. I liked it.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.