Poets logo

In Awe

Is there love at first sight?

By K. Wisendanger Published 4 months ago Updated 3 months ago 2 min read
In Awe
Photo by Leighann Blackwood on Unsplash

The first time I heard your voice I was in awe. Your tone, your dynamic choice of words, your prolific nouns, adjectives, and verbs. Alongside of how you deliver your message without a flaw, when the words exit your jaw. I’m silently admiring the insatiable sound of your voice in awe.

Driving impatiently, anxiously, waiting to wrap my arms around you, slightly trembling as if I were in a tundra unthawed. And then… I arrived. My heart pulsates while I slowly approach the slightly tinted windows of your car. How did I feel in this moment? If you want to know, my heart gallantly thumps. My breathing shallows, as I the distance shortens from broad to narrow.

The door opens. It goes from closed to ajar. When you exited your car, I wanted to sing to you but, I am no Bruno Mars. What I do know is that I like you just the way you are. I was flabbergasted by what I saw. The grandeur of your beauty is lengthy; it would take me an eternity to describe your appearance but you need no make up, or pictorial filters. You are gorgeous skin-raw.

Admiring the tingling sensation when I hugged you—finally knowing what it feels like to touch you, passionately grasping you with my paw. I liked when you submissively open your jaw—allowing me to sip on your lips like a straw. With your mind, beauty, and energy, I am in Awe!

You are the definition of perfection. Between us, I feel a strong connection. You are a priceless and precious like a trophy. Although you may be thinking, “we just met. How can he say this. He doesn’t even know me?” Compassion is not dependent on time solely. A gallon may not be sufficient to quench one’s thirst for love. Some may only need a pint. But, all it takes is an ounce. How you feel about someone cannot be expressed nor an emoji. How you feel can be expressed better with a simple “hold me.”

With you I am in awe. They say, “there is no such thing as love at first sight”. It is foolish for one to think hearts work on time constraints and man’s law. Hearts only work on natural law.

I am going to stop rambling. Lastly, I would like to mention. I am dating you with benevolent intentions. They say, “there is no such thing as love at first sight.” Who made that law! The only time I want to hear the word law is when it is in it’s plurality and meshed with the word “in”, creating the word “in-laws.” The day I vow to accept you through sickness and health, for poorer or wealth, for better or worse, with the acceptance of all your flaws.

With you, I am in awe! As for the future generations, they can look at our story and say awwwwww!

love poems

About the Creator

K. Wisendanger

A literary architect who builds worlds with words.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (4)

  • Antoni Nima3 months ago

    Nice, I like the way you played with rhythm in parts of the prose. I read it out loud and had a lot of fun playing with momentum. Great work!

  • Tracy Patterson3 months ago

    Beautifully written. Is it from your experience with that one special person? Or fictional?

  • Awww, this was so lovely and wonderful! Loved it so much!

  • Alex H Mittelman 4 months ago

    I’m in awe of your writing! Great work!

K. Wisendanger Written by K. Wisendanger

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.