Poets logo

In a World of Seagulls be a Swan

Knowing Your Worth

By Mary HaynesPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
3
My photo.

I walk the beach and wonder why, it's hard to find that perfect guy.

The one whose eyes won't wander far, so I won’t wonder who WE are.

I look ahead and see the fray of seagulls at the end of day.

The chase is on, the scene is garish,

All fighting for the same damn fish.

Seagulls these days are everywhere, with their sleek white wings and beaks that tear.

They don’t care if that fish is yours,

It matters not to the seagull hoards.

My photo.

At the mall I find a spot and look across the parking lot,

I watch the people weave and dash, but my eye is drawn to the trash.

There among the smelly gunk, seagulls squabble over precious junk.

They hop about in a crowded scrum,

All fighting for the same damn crumb.

Seagulls these days are everywhere, with their pompous chests and piercing glare.

They don’t care if that crumb is yours,

It matters not to the seagull hoards.

My photo.

At the bar on a Friday night, having fun, but my grip is tight.

Here they strut with a sway of their hips,

Bedroom eyes and red glossed lips.

Despite me being on his arm, the jerk can't help turning on the charm!

Well, I won’t fight for the same damn guy.

Hard no, baby! Bye bye bye!”

“Seagulls” these days are everywhere with tight little skirts and bleach blonde hair.

Doesn’t matter if that man is yours,

It matters not to the “Seagull” hoards.

My photo.

social commentary
3

About the Creator

Mary Haynes

Mary Haynes splits her time between a romantic old sailboat in tropical waters and a beach home in Ontario. A wanderer, by fate, she embraces wherever she roams! Mary recently completed her first children’s book, “Who Ate My Peppers?”

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Add your insights

Comments (3)

Sign in to comment
  • Gina B.about a year ago

    Love this unexpected metaphor!

  • Jori T. Sheppardabout a year ago

    Umm… way to comment… I mean… I don’t know, dude. I can’t agree with you on this one. I can tell you have been hurt before, but blaming the “seagulls” seems a little… ya know. Think about it. Seagulls are rat birds right, they go after trash. You don’t want to eat trash. You are hungry and you find a sandwich that a seagull can EASILY steal… it’s probably trash and not worth eating. It’s the heavy, good sandwich bread and the thick cut lunch meat that’s not easy to carry away. Those sandwiches exist, but you need to learn what to look for before you can find them with accuracy. Don’t blame trash birds for eating trash.

  • Babs Iverson2 years ago

    Lovely & loving your social commentary poem!!!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.