Poets logo

Of Sunrise and Sunset

Finding Peace

By Mary HaynesPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 1 min read
4
Of Sunrise and Sunset
Photo by Genevieve Dallaire on Unsplash

I was a child of the sunrise

I am a woman of the sunset.

Born of the water, formed by the waves.

The sunrise energizes.

The sunset calms.

I am at peace on the beach

Between earth and water.

At home in both elements.

One foot firmly in the sand,

The other splashing in waves.

My comfortable place in the universe.

The arrival of fall creates anxiety.

My feet shun chilly water.

Winds blow and clouds cover.

Cosy sweaters replace swimsuits.

Comfy socks cover my feet.

I grow dark with shorter days.

Fireplaces and soft blankets beckon.

But the spirit of the wind whispers.

The beach is still there.

And the sun always rises.

My Photo

inspirational
4

About the Creator

Mary Haynes

Mary Haynes splits her time between a romantic old sailboat in tropical waters and a beach home in Ontario. A wanderer, by fate, she embraces wherever she roams! Mary recently completed her first children’s book, “Who Ate My Peppers?”

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Kathy Kneaplerabout a year ago

    Beautiful and I cannot relate to cold only to living forever summers

  • Jori T. Sheppard2 years ago

    A Fitting poem for the season although I personally can’t connect from fleeing from the sea when it’s cold. Shows how different comfort can be for someone. Otherwise this was a nice casual read

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.