Poets logo

In a mood

Where the trees are shady

By TestPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
2
In a mood
Photo by Katie Drazdauskaite on Unsplash

Sometimes I wake up and I'm in a mood

And I don't know how or why

Do I lie in my bed and cry in my head?

No, I go out and look at the sky

I hear the songs of the birds

I like to watch them fly

And I drift away as the clouds roll by

I close my eyes and say

"It's a beautiful day"

And I find a little peace of mind

You know, this life is so crazy

But I can't let it phase me

So I go lie down where the trees are shady

I have a pretty good life

There's no need for this strife

And I can't keep walking on the edge of a knife

I take three long breaths

To give my thoughts a rest

Sometimes I've got to yell to get it off of my chest

So I take small steps

One day I'll get there

'Cause I'm always moving forward if I never regress

I know everything fades with the passage of days

And I can't breathe hate when they laugh in my face

So I gather my smile

And I laugh for a while

'Cause I prefer to be happy, that is my style

Yeah, it's a mighty fine day to watch the sky in the shade

Then I lower my gaze and watch the dragonflies play

Well, I have a confession

I don't need this depression

So I get it off my chest and then I throw it away

Because sometimes I wake up and I'm in a mood

And I don't know how or why

Do I lie in my bed and cry in my head?

No

I go out and look at the sky

By yns plt on Unsplash

nature poetry
2

About the Creator

Test

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

Test is not accepting comments at the moment

Want to show your support? Send them a one-off tip.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.