Poets logo

Impostor Syndrome

I dream that one day I’ll be comfortable in my own skin

By Colleen Millsteed Published 3 years ago 1 min read
8
Impostor Syndrome
Photo by Tamara Gak on Unsplash

I was asked to write on this topic today

A time when I stopped believing in myself,

Today of all days, this is a great prompt

As this is a feeling where I seem to excel.

***

I struggle constantly to believe in me

In fact I’m really only okay when alone,

As soon as I meet or talk to others

It is the classic Impostor Syndrome.

***

I feel anxious and stressed for days

Wondering when people will find out,

Did they discover or see through me

I’m left feeling crippled from this doubt.

***

Today I remember on a continuous loop

A meeting I had with the boss yesterday,

One snide comment he happened to make

And it has run through my mind on replay.

***

I’ve written before and probably will again

That I’m my own worst enemy and friend,

As much as I try to believe in myself

The thoughts in my head never end.

***

As mentioned above this is a struggle

One that I do truely intend to win,

I’m working towards finding that one day

I am finally comfortable in my own skin.

**************************************

If you liked my writing, please click on the small heart underneath, near my name. Or send me a tip and let me know you enjoyed it.

****

Please click the link below my name to read more of my work. I would also like to thank you for taking the time to read this today and for all your support.

If you enjoy this piece, you may enjoy this one too.

Originally posted on Medium

surreal poetry
8

About the Creator

Colleen Millsteed

My first love is poetry — it’s like a desperate need to write, to free up space in my mind, to escape the constant noise in my head. Most of the time the poems write themselves — I’m just the conduit holding the metaphorical pen.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Mike Singleton - Mikeydred2 years ago

    Perfectly stated

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.