Poets logo

Imposter syndrome

Who is real and who is fake?

By Anna TorresPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like
Imposter syndrome
Photo by Evgeni Tcherkasski on Unsplash

You are not me. There are too many sides to a doppelgänger. An android made to blend in. Who will finish the race with me in last place? Imposter, you have no free will. You have absorbed all of my energy. What makes the spirit weak and the flesh willing? What makes the mask fit so perfectly? A gun is a prop in this game we play. Hide and seek where I run and you take aim. The womb lies bleeding from the wounds you inflict. A parasite borne from artificial clay. Why would you mutilate yourself when you’ve got me? I’ve got my chainsaw and you have your deception. I can’t forgive you for your sins because you aren’t human anyways. You are a charlatan in disguise. You prey on mercy and compassion but I have none. A fiction made of fairy tales and lies. A nuclear war with a machine made of hellfire. I can’t unplug you, I can’t disconnect you. You can’t assimilate omniscience. A function of submission. A replica of human body parts but you can’t copycat me. You terminate to create. Electrical impulses but you can’t induce consciousness. What can kill that cannot be killed? I’ve been haunted by dreams of judgement. We cannot escape our fates. You fraud, you imperfect delusion. A psycho with nothing but a metal skeleton to bury. You got me doubting my own existence. A mechanism of impersonation, an infiltration of destruction. You masquerade as my bluff but you cannot imitate me. You cannot get rid of me. This ruse, this holocaust is my undoing. I’ve manipulated my own humanity. Maybe your sentience won’t be fulfilled. Maybe my resistance isn’t real. Maybe this fire will cleanse us all. We cannot go on and keep playing this game

surreal poetry
Like

About the Creator

Anna Torres

I’m a 37-year old mother. I love reading, metal music, and writing. I have begun writing again since 2021

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.