Poets logo

Monarch

A cult in disguise

By Anna TorresPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like
Monarch
Photo by Ivan Aleksic on Unsplash

We have such a charismatic leader. One is always right and never wrong. Conceded in defeat, I welcome you with open arms. I aspire to be at your level. Untouchable, such a fearless commander. I acquiesced and capitulated and have gone under. A wormhole of submission. A surrender of all my senses. Oh heroic captain, your captives all lost all their defenses. Assimilation isn’t my strongest suit. Bowing down to your fascist throne. Stripped away of all my power. The top is lonely but you’re never alone. My dark overlord, ruler of all time. You control and hypnotize your followers. You and your death eaters will simply devour us. Progressive antebellum ways, you know what’s best for all of us. Loyal to an unforgiving ruler, history may never forgive us. Like a marionette on strings, you dance around us like you’re a king. We are mistresses for your fickleness. I don’t owe you a damn thing. We surrender like rats to a piper resembling a ringleader. This isn’t your circus. You are not superior. We are not lambs without a shepard. You’re like a concussion to the head. Death follows you like a beacon. I’m choking on the lies I’ve been fed. You play the role of a sadist. I’m under some kind of wicked spell. We fold under your whims. We call home these damp and dirty cells. A spark of divinity. We are your legions of doom. Worshipping your grand design, allegiance to death will arrive soon. We have been judged. We have been brought to the gallows. Your dominion will forever reign. We will die, if you allow us.

surreal poetry
Like

About the Creator

Anna Torres

I’m a 37-year old mother. I love reading, metal music, and writing. I have begun writing again since 2021

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.