Poets logo

Impossible Love

A poem by Lizzy Pacem, written in late 2019 on reflection of the previous few years.

By Lizzy PacemPublished 3 years ago 2 min read
Like
Picture colored by Lizzy Pacem in 2020

I

Saw him,

And I could

Not stop staring.

I knew it was wrong

Because he was with my

Friend and I was with someone

Else, so I shoved it deep, deep, down

Inside myself and forgot about

It. I got a text from him. He wanted

To see me in a new shirt I had just

Bought, and he called me beautiful the

Way my boyfriend didn't... and the

Way no one else did. I pushed

It down, shut it up. I

Met up with him at

His girlfriend's house

To enjoy

The new

Year

With

Friends... like

I never

Had before... and

To get over a

Grueling heartbreak when my

Boyfriend slept with my classmate -

When the guy I loved for eight long

Months cheated on me the whole time, and

I was played more often than poker in

Vegas. He comforted me in a way

I never knew possible, but

He was with my friend... and I was

Heartbroken... and it was wrong.

In May, I discovered

That he could cook like

Hell's Kitchen and

Sing like an

Angel,

And

Once

Again,

I was quite

Enchanted; but

He was engaged to

My friend, and it was wrong.

In September, he sent me

A text. She had left him alone -

And devastated - for another

Guy. I met up with him to hang out and

Help him through a rough patch, just as he had

For me in January. Then, in

October, I went on a date...

And he kissed me, and the world

Stopped moving, and the whole

Population froze

To watch as two

Hearts started

To beat

As

One.

As the

Totally

Impossible

Happened to me. In

November, both of our

Families gathered around

To celebrate Thanksgiving while

We laughed and talked and flirted around

The table. In December, we kissed each

Other under the mistletoe and rocked

Around the tree like I never had

Been able to before. Then, in

January, I got to

Celebrate the greatest,

Happiest New Year

I had ever

Had. Then, in

The cold

And

Wet,

Dark and

Busy of February, I had my very

First Valentine's date with

The most perfect match to my

Soul I could've ever asked for.

In March, he turned into the tallest

Leprechaun I had ever seen - with his

Red hair shining and spots of silver mixed

With his glistening multicolored

Eyes that captivated my own.

In April, he was my own

Easter Bunny, and in

July, our kisses

Competed with

Every

Firework

Show

In

The whole

Nation. In

August, the heat

Of the summer paled

In comparison to

The heat that was shared between

Us. In September, I was the

Luckiest woman in the world to

Have this wonderful man take my hand and

Ask me to marry him. When I said yes,

His tears of joy matched mine and my heart,

And that very night, I knew what

It meant to make love with the

One person you can't live

Without like I could

Never even

Imagine.

And then,

In

The

Chill of

October,

After a sweet

Year of us being

Together, we became

Parents to a young man who

Needed us. In a year, my whole

World shifted, and I wouldn't have it

Any other place than where it is now.

love poems
Like

About the Creator

Lizzy Pacem

I have experienced many things over my long life, and all of these things influence my writing. I have been an advocate for the arts since the beginning of the concept of art, and I hope to inspire others to embrace their inner creators.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.