Poets logo

Impact

The default

By MariePublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 3 min read
1
Impact
Photo by Charl Folscher on Unsplash

A small spec in the cosmos, where is my place.

I can't move with every push and pull.

Following the lead of wise words and in the footsteps of the path laid out for me.

No, don't go that way! No, don't do it that way! No, don't say it that way!

"I will tell you where to go, what to do, and how to speak."

What is this? These are not my choices. Yet I feel the forces, compelling me to obey.

Smothering my wants and needs. Did I forget what they were?

You dictate my life and yet tell me it's mine to live it.

Contradictions of debilitative manipulation.

Corresponding with a resounding, yes, ok I'll do it your way.

At the same time, I become obsolete in my own life.

I remember being a child with lots of hopes, dreams and ambitions.

Where did they go? I am a small spec in the cosmos but why do I feel less than.

Is my life my own or I am a creation of your own making?

Where do I go? I need to break free. You are smothering me.

Who will I be? You and everyone that have grown accustomed to thinks less of me.

I see this and I know this but yet I stay any way.

Is there better out there for me or will others view me the same?

I can't breathe when you speak to me because you're speaking at me.

Stifling and trifling you are but I cannot leave. You will try to destroy me either way.

Collapsing at the thought of what can happen, but I must go, I can't stay here.

By Dennis Anderson on Unsplash

I'm leaving and won't ever look back. I will miss you when I go.

I must do what's best for me; I need to be free.

Something you haven't given me, maybe because you yourself has never truly had it.

Conforming to the wants and needs of others but shoving yours into the mud and dirt.

That cycle seems unending and an overbearing trait of those who refuse to be and do better by others and themselves.

You will either succumb to it or become it yourself.

I refuse those choices. It is time for me to make my own way of living.

The consequences may be far worst, if don't live my life my way.

Know your role and play it swell; but be main charter and treat others well. A sequence of humanism.

I will create my role as the main character.

Others must treat me well as I will them or I will have nothing more to with them if they don't.

I don't want my story to be one of shame and pity.

Other's sympathy can become a tool for them to create themselves as someone of greater importance than you.

My importance is defined by me and my definition of myself.

Those who cannot see the importance of me are not worth the effort and time.

I have lost my freedom to the world around me and called it my life, but it was not mine.

I have broken free and now this is my life, my decisions are of my own discretion.

By frank mckenna on Unsplash

A small spec in the cosmos. My place is of great importance.

I designate who I am and where I go. I cast the people in my life.

For it is mine to acquire, and to go after my desires.

No one else will ever make me feel less than by controlling and dictating my very being ever again.

At the mercy of others is not a place to be. Until now that is where I have been. No more.

I will seize my opportunities and align myself with the strength of others willing to stand beside me.

My place is to be me and to be me means, I am free to choose.

performance poetry
1

About the Creator

Marie

Just a woman in a world of glorious people, with immeasurable souls. Some are lost, some never have been, and others are found.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.