Poets logo

Illusory

Save Yourself

By Erin BarteskiPublished 2 months ago 1 min read
1
Illusory
Photo by KEEM IBARRA on Unsplash

The night grows still and empty but yet my mind fills in the shadows

Was that movement? The harder I look, the less I see

Night blindness consumes my vision

I live my life in the shadows

A shape without form

Interposed between the light and growing emptiness

As scary as it is

No one sees me

I blend so seamlessly

The dark allows me to become invisible to prying eyes

I feel like such an imposter

No one can steal my light if I don't have one

People are scavengers

They take

And they take until there is nothing left

A carcass

A shell

Absolute nothingness

The darkness has ahold of me

Absence of all emotion

Long wiry fingers protecting me at any cost

If I felt anything, it would be comfort

But you can't find me here

I don't exist anymore

sad poetrysurreal poetry
1

About the Creator

Erin Barteski

Fascination with the unknown

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran2 months ago

    Omgggg, that is sooo true! They take from us until they've sucked our blood dry!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.